6B Transportation

Mobility of residents is a major element of a good life on Capitol Hill.  Posted here are past and upcoming activities and actions of the ANC 6B Transportation Committee, of which I am chair.

Committee’s Purpose
The Committee discusses and/or reviews all transportation issues (large and small whatever the mode) affecting the mobility of residents of the Commission and, when appropriate, recommends positions for the full ANC to consider.  The Committee was established in 2011 and, in 2013, the ANC voted to confer permanent Standing Committee status to the Committee.

Meetings are typically held on the first Wednesday of each month at the Hill Center, 921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE or at 700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE.  Meetings are open to the public.  Committee reports since 2018 are posted below.

Next Regular Meeting:  Wednesday, September 4, 2019
The September agenda includes DDOT Notice of Intent 19-174-PSD (Curbside Bike & Scooter Parking–see document below), a discussion on the 17th Street SE bike lane, and a request to add a right turn lane at 3rd & I Street SE.

NOI 19-174 bike-scooter corral
TSA Questionnaire Right Turn at 3rd&I SE

Older documents:
DDOT NOI – 19-001 TDD Circulator Turnaround
DDOT Bike Share 11&C Photo Oct 2018
Mayor’s Vision Zero Slides Oct 2018
DDOT 15th Street SE, Kentucky Ave SE, Potomac Ave SE, and G St SE

Committee Reports
September 4, 2019
August 2019 (no meeting held)
July 1, 2019
June 5, 2019
May 8, 2019
April 1, 2019
March 6, 2019
February 4, 2019
January 9, 2019
December 5, 2018
November 7, 2018
October 3, 2018
Sept 5, 2018
August (no meeting held)
July 2, 2018
June 6, 2018
May 2, 2018
April (no meeting held)
Mar 7, 2018
February 7, 2018
January 3 2018

Committee Members
All ANC 6B Commissioners are members of the Committee.  Each Commissioner can nominate a Resident Member for the Committee.  The Resident Members appointed to serve in 2019 are:  Floyd Brown (6B01), Norman Metzger (6B03), John Manley (6B04), Jiaming Shang (6B07), Carol Grissom (6B08), and John Ten Hoeve (6B09).

Why is the 6B Committee here?
The ANC 6B website version disappeared a while back along with copious data that had been stored there.  This version has some of the elements of the previous one.  Although, it won’t be as extensive, as uploading several years of monthly committee reports is daunting.